Safety 1st Heavenly Dreams White Crib Mattress

Safety 1st Heavenly Dreams White Crib Mattress

GREENGUARD GOLD certified, the Safety 1st Heavenly Dreams Mattress meets standards for low chemical emissions to provide the safest sleeping environment for your baby. It high density thermo-bonded core provides firm support for your little one as they sleep. This mattress is lightweight and durable for long-lasting use throughout your child’s development. The cover is water resistant and wipes clean easily. Sweet dreams are sure to come quickly with the Safety 1st Heavenly Dreams Mattress! Safety 1st Heavenly Dreams White Crib Mattress is firm, lightweight and waterproof. Its vinyl sleeping surface is hypoallergenic and free of phthalates and lead. The sturdy cover is tear resistant, but also resists stains and odors. Its high density thermo bonded fiber core provides firm and long lasting support. Fits all standard cribs and toddler beds. Meets federal flammability standard 16 CFR 1633 without the use of potentially harmful chemicals, because at Safety 1st your baby’s safety is our number one priority.

Main features

  • Hypoallergenic
  • Imported
  • Product Dimensions: 52.5″L x 27.5″W x 5.5″H – Thickness: 5.5 inches
  • High density thermo-bonded core provides firm support
  • Lightweight and durable for long-lasting use throughout your child’s development
  • Outer Cover: Vinyl laminated with Polypropylene
  • The Safety 1st Heavenly Dreams mattress has achieved GREENGUARD GOLD Certification

Verified reviews

★★★★★

This price HAS to be mismarked…UPDATED 2/3/2014

UPDATE: 2/3/2014Hi everyone! We just converted the crib to a toddler bed last week for a very sneaky and clever 27 month old. We still use this same mattress and we still adore it. Sheets are the same, blankets are the same, only now she can come and go out of bed as she pleases. No worries…her room has been “sweeped” for dangers and there is an additional baby gate at the door to keep Houdini safely inside. If anyone wants to check out my blog, it’s loaded with this kind of thing plus a ton of other helpful (and humorous!) stories, how tos, reviews and how not tos! If you like it, please share with your friends as well as your internet friends…Thanks so much!! […]UPDATE: 5/30/13This mattress is still AHHH-MAZING!! I say this because it has retained it’s shape and form beautifully and if baby’s diaper leaks overnight (and they will as they get bigger!) you can easily clean the mess. We use a waterproof mattress pad, but still, when everything is in the wash, I still give it a good wipe down. Baby loves it and she’s 20 months now. One thing i really appreciate about it and you may not care about this, but since there are no springs, she has never had the urge to try and jump up and down on it and escape the crib.Also, some of you have asked about the size of the mattress and it is at least average crib mattress size, if not longer. I am paranoid by design and I never had one unsafe thought or experience with this mattress. I suppose if you are using an older crib or a HUGE one, you may have minor issues, but we use a solid wood crib to full size bed convertible type ($$!…don’t even get me started on the cost of a good heirloom crib!), and nada…no problems.Feel free to contact me here with any questions. I was happy to see that so many people enjoyed my original review and I am more than happy to answer any questions- big or small- that you may have. I love this mattress more now then I did nearly two years ago and I am super finicky. For the price, you simply can’t lose.________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________I ordered this mattress 2 days ago and it was on my doorstep this afternoon. I have to say that I am floored by the quality. This is for our second daughter (on her way) and our oldest used a mattress 2x this price and when I compared them side by side, I was blown away.Here’s why:1. It’s a dense, high quality memory foam with a waterproof cover on it (removable)2. Contrary to what other reviewers say, it’s big; as a matter of fact, it’s a good 1.5″ longer than our brand name more expensive mattress that pales in comparison. The old one is like sitting on a series of crunchy springs and the new one is like sitting on a tempur-pedic with a non-crunchy waterproof cover.I did a lot of anal retentive research in this purchase and am shocked that this is the real price for this mattress. Don’t hesitate on this one. It feels and looks very high end. You’ll be glad I did all the psychotic research for you in advance.

Hilda New Richmond, IN
★★★★★

Great Matrress for the Price!

I was so pleasantly surprised by this mattress! I know that a nice, firm mattress is ideal for growing children, since their bones aren’t fully hardened for the first several years, making something strong and supportive important to ensure proper bone development. So, I really had no intention on skimping on mattresses for our twin daughters. When I saw this mattress, I was a little concerned, since it’s price was so low, but I chose it because of how thick and dense it was listed as, while comparing specs between different mattresses (I was so surprised to see much more expensive mattresses that were thin, light and not very dense at all; it seemed as if because they had a trusted and known mattress brand name that that warrented the high price, which did not compell me to purchase them). This mattress was thicker and denser than many of the more expensive mattresses, which I was surprised to see, but figured I’d give it a try to see if we could save some money, and simply send it back if I didn’t like it. Boy was I shocked when they arrived! Seriously, you will not be disappointed with this mattress. It is nice and firm, and thick, but not at all a pain to change the sheets on. While setting up the cribs, my 8 year old (who’s nearly 60lbs; yes she’s admittedly on the petite end) even layed on it while it was on the floor and the mattress didn’t sink noticeably or seem squishy. It is definitely a way nicer mattress than she had as a baby (her mattress was less than half the thickness, but cost more, once again I think we were decieved by the manufacturer name, rather than really knowing what to look for in quality). This is great mattress for a great price.

Norma Sullivan, IN
★★★★★

Nice crib mattress

Not too firm, not too soft…it’s just right! Baby is comfortable. I’m very pleased with the purchase of this crib mattress it seems just as good as the other high priced mattress but for a fraction of the cost.

Velma Lewisville, TX
★★★★★

Safety 1st Heavenly Dreams Crib Mattress, White

Pros- Item arrived on time and packaged accordingly. Mattress is exactly how its described. I find the mattress to be very light and easy to move/change sheets. Mattress is perfect for a infant…not to hard yet not to soft. Fits well in standard size crib as well.Cons- none as of yet. UPDATE 4/15/12- Since my orginal review on this product I have given birth to my son. Now that I have atcually used this mattress I have complaints! My son was born in March, I have only used the mattress for two months now. The mattress has started to have a indentation from where my son lays at night and his head area. It dips in and doesn’t spring back to life after his moved off the mattress. I am HIGHLY upset about this and would not recommend buying this. We actually bought another one today because of this issue!

Desiree Old Saybrook, CT
★★★★★

Great mattress for any little one.

We are expecting our first child and ordered this mattresss after doing some research both in stores and online for good prices and quality. We are very pleased with this mattress and its size. Some reviewers have said the mattress was too small for their crib and left awful gaps. In our case it wasn’t a issue at all. We have a Graco Lauren 4-in-1 crib and the Heavenly Dreams mattress was one of the first to be recommended by Amazon itself. We measured and the mattress fits snuggly and has dimensions close to 52″ long x 27.5″, the long side could be measured closer to 51.75″ or so because you have to make sure to measure on the ‘real’ end of the mattress instead of just the binding because it’s flexability. Width-wise it is a nice and tight fit. There is maybe, and I stress maybe, less than a 1/4 of an inch on either end.It came wrapped in heavy duty plastic bag with heat sealing on each end. There were no marks or dings on the packaging. The information sheet that was attached to the mattress did have some sticky residue on the mattress, but you can either remove that with just water, WD-40, or plain vegetable oil and then wash off whatever substance you use. We used water to get it off and it just took a little elbow grease. The waterproof cover looks wonderful, so I doubt we will even get a liner to go over it.We chose this mattress for our child because of the solid foam core. Our little girl may have a genetic condition called O.I. or Brittle Bone Disease and a firm mattress is a must. Its soft enough to sleep on comfortably and firm enough for support. We’re really excited to have our daughter test it out completely. We’re also posting our pictures of the mattress in the crib for you to see for yourself. ^_^

Elnora Saint Regis, MT
★★★★★

Safety hazard; mattress too short

When I first put this mattress in my crib, without sheets on it, it fit perfectly. However, a month or two later, after it had had sheets on it, it had shrunk lengthwise over 2 inches, creating a significant gap between the edge of the mattress and the short side of the crib. It has stayed that way ever since. I am not sure if the pressure of the sheets shrunk it, but the change appears to be permanent as the mattress doesn’t bounce back into shape after I take off the sheet. I use Garanimals sheets with elastic all the way around, and they are the right size for this mattress. The width of the mattress has stayed the same and fits snugly in the crib. I am using this mattress for my newborn but as soon as she is able to move around in her crib I will be buying a new mattress that can maintain its shape.

Janette Bath, ME
★★★★★

DO NOT BUY!!

After doing a ton of searching and reading reviews I finally decided to purchase this mattress. For one it had good reviews and the price was great. But I really don’t see how this mattress could have such good reviews. My son had only slept on this mattress for 4 months when it started caving in in the middle, which I know all of you moms out there know this is NOT SAFE! When the mattress first arrived I was a little leery of it because it just felt flimsy but I thought I would go ahead and try it since it had such good reviews, big mistake! I should have just returned it from the git go. so now, yesterday in fact we purchased a much better mattress. we purchased an all foam, organic, dual sided (infant and toddler side) Simmons brand, from Costco for $99.99. So if you do a little research you’ll find that anything comparable to this mattress would typically run about $200.00 so this was an excellent deal. My best advice is to just spend a little more from the git go and know that you have a good quality mattress for your little one. After all they will get a lot of use out it so might as well make sure it is going to last. luckily I was able to return this mattress for free and get my money back with out any hassle, and for that I love amazon!

Bridgett Mansfield, MO
★★★★★

First Time Expectant Father – My Thoughts… Will Update After Delivery 🙂

My wife and I are expecting next spring, but as most parents do, they go ahead and get their furniture prior to the baby arriving. I’ve been reading baby books and various parenting forums on how to prepare for your child and my choices/opinions are based on my research. While I can’t say whether or not my research is the “best way”, it met every guideline I could find on baby mattresses.For references, the crib we purchased was theDelta Bentley S Series 4-in-1 Crib chocolate. Without further ado, here are the reasons why I chose this mattress…PASSES FOAM RESILIENCY:For babies, there are two types of mattresses out there: foam & inner spring. Since the Safety 1st mattress is all foam, there are a few guidelines I read about in regards to baby mattresses. First and foremost is the risk of SIDS. To reduce your chances, the mattress must be FIRM. The softer the mattress, the greater the suffocation/SIDS risk. Mattresses aimed for older children/adults are typically much softer than those of baby mattresses. That’s why baby mattresses tend to be on the firmer side. Regardless of thickness, the FIRMER the better. An easy test for resiliency of a foam mattress is to just use your hand. Press on the center of the mattress with your hand and then remove it. Take note of how soft it is and secondly, how quickly it regains the shape. The faster the “impression” recovers, the better. Sleeping babies will make impressions while laying on the mattress and if it’s not firm enough, they can’t change position and hence will get “stuck” sleeping in that position… which leads to suffocation & SIDS. Perform the same test at the edges as well (babies will start to move around as they get older and may end up on the sides/corners while moving around while sleeping).EASY TO CLEAN/STURDY COVER:The cover (vinyl) is made of hypoallergenic and free of phthalates and lead. It is easy to clean (stain/odor resistant) and tear resistant. Babies will have accidents (leaky diapers) and you want to be able to properly clean the cover to get rid of any bacteria or harmful organisms.FITMENT:Having purchased the crib mentioned prior, I was worried about fitment issues. Based on Babycenter.com, a baby’s mattress needs to be snug with no more than 2 fingers of space between the sides and the mattress. Too much space can lead to entrapment hazards and even worse, suffocation of your baby. By my web research on our crib, another owner mentioned that this mattress was a *PERFECT* fit. And so, I bought it knowing that it is the right size for my crib.AMAZON RANK:Of all the mattresses out there, this one is ranked #1 on Amazon. Originally I was going to getSimmons Kids Beautyrest Beginnings Sleepy Whispers Ultra Deluxe 2 n 1 Crib and Toddler Mattress, Neutraljust because of the name but after reading both, I decided I could get the Safety first. Currently the average rank for this mattress is 4.5 stars with 649 reviews at the time of this writing. Compare this to 84 reviewers of the Simmons mattress… personally I’d trust the opinions of 500+ more random people.Hope my review helps!

Jackie Sagle, ID
★★★★★

DANGEROUSLY small for our standard crib

Bought this for our standard crib (we have an older crib mattress, but it is torn, and we use it for the kids to have “sleepovers” in each other’s rooms).Dangerously small – It left a 4 inch gap! That poses a very real risk of baby’s head becoming trapped, and baby suffocating. We are returning it. The listing really should give dimensions, rather than stating it fits a standard crib. Our other mattress fits perfectly. I guess we’ll flip the rip over and use the old one for now…..

Irma Mount Jackson, VA
★★★★★

Do not buy this!

If I did not throw away my packaging I would return this. I have a newborn baby. This mattress does not allow her skin to breathe. Also it releases chemical odors. These odors are causing my poor baby to have this body rash. She didn’t have this rash and once she slept on this bed it caused minor red blotchy marks on her entire body. I noticed a slight smelly smell in the room, thinking what is this smell as I clean and clean and it’s still lingering. I removed the bed and BAM the smell has gone along with this chemical infested mattress. I guess being fire resistant that should of been obvious that this mattress is drenched in chemicals. On to the next one….

Barbara Sinclair, WY
★★★★★

Doesn’t smell, fits my Ikea crib.

The titles sums it up. I was concerned about the mattress since I had to wait nearly a month before my foam mattress pad from Ikea was aired out enough to be able to use without smelling toxic. This mattress arrived and did not have any of that terrible chemical smell. I was also pleased that it fit my Ikea Gulliver crib that I bought this month with no gaps on the sides at all, it is a very snug fit.

Gwen Snowville, UT
★★★★★

So far so good

We purchased this mattress based on the other reviews that said it was slightly longer, and that it seemed great for the money.Our little one has not arrived yet, but I’m glad we bought it.Things I like:- Liquid proof zip-off cover- Fit our Babi Italia Eastside Lifestyle crib PERFECTLY. No gap on the front or back, and I could squeeze one finger between the mattress and crib on either end.- Very light weight. Easy to lift out, take off sheet, replace sheet, and put back in. We felt steel spring mattresses at the baby stores and they were all pretty heavy in comparison.- Nice and firm. Has a decent amount of give, as you would expect from foam, but is definitely still firm enough to make me comfortable with it. We felt steel spring mattresses at baby stores, and while the amount of overall give is similar, the spring mattresses had harder and softer spots, correlating to where the springs were under the pressure. To me this means pressure points on baby.- Our Lambs & Ivy Raspberry Swirl crib set sheets fit perfectly.Things I don’t like:Wasn’t free. :)Overall I can’t imagine what you’d get by spending 2-4x more than this for a mattress. I really can’t. Just buy this one and move on to the next baby item on your list.***UPDATE 9/14/2013***Our daughter has been sleeping on this mattress for over a year now. There are no low spots and it seems to be holding up really well. Changing sheets is a BREEZE since it is so light, and the plastic is super easy to clean. Super happy with it.

Ashley Astor, FL
★★★★★

Not as thick as you think…

This mattress wasn’t as thick as I thought it would be from the photo, but it’s a NICE mattress. It’s a slightly flocked mattress – not at all plastic like they used to be. A really nice mattress for a crib and the PERFECT density! It’s not too firm and not too soft…just enough ‘give’ to make it cushy for your baby. Highly recommend!!!

Shawn Hurricane, WV
★★★★★

Loud/Crunch Mattress not conducive to infant sleep

This mattress is too cheaply made! My newborn can not sleep on this! It is loud – yes, a mattress that is somehow loud. The exterior of the mattress has a cheap plastic covering to make it waterproof, but the material makes a crunch no matter what when you move over it.My baby hated it. HATED IT! He would sleep soundly in our arms but scream as we slowly lowered him into his crib. Not because he wanted to be held, but because the mattress literally woke him up as you rested him upon it.My husband and I weren’t getting sleep. My baby is now almost 7 months old and after buying a new mattress he’s already slept through the night the very night we purchased the new mattress.I thought with the reviews of this mattress being so high that it would be a fine mattress – I mean, who really cares if a baby has a super expensive mattress, right? It is definitely cheap cheap cheap and I hope you buy a mattress elsewhere.

Lenore Aledo, IL
★★★★★

Great for use in DaVinci Emily Crib

We have theDaVinci Emily 4 in 1 Crib with Toddler Rail, White. This mattress fits 100% perfect in that crib. I see a lot of reviews about mattresses that are not the dimensions advertised. I can tell you that this mattress is true to what it claims to be and fits in our crib. Both the crib and mattress claim to be fairly “standard” sizes. So there you go…..this mattress should fit whatever bed/crib you have as long as the bed/crib is not a weird size.Great firmness.Great thickness.Removable waterproof cover.No plastic smell at all.Does not make much of a sound when you press on it. There is a slight crinkle sound, but that is with no sheets or anything.

Summer Creighton, NE
★★★★★

Excellent value

Really impressed by the quality and value of this mattress. And I love that it’s made in Canada. I don’t think you’ll be disappointed if you order this one – you can’t beat the price, it’s well made and has no chemical off-gas smell upon opening. Fits the crib perfectly too.

Maricela Dulzura, CA
★★★★★

Returned because it is way too firm…

Way too firm and bends in the middle when a sheet is put on. Had to return it for these reasons.

Lauren Millington, MD
★★★★★

Great, firm mattress.

This mattress is exactly what I was looking for. It is extremely firm, which is what you want for a newborn to help reduce the risk of SIDS. It is a foam mattress, but not what I would describe as memory foam. It’s good quality and does not have a funky smell like some mattresses have. It fits into my standard size crib with absolutely NO gaps around the edges. I am extremely pleased with my purchase.

Delores Horatio, AR
★★★★★

Perfect size

After reading lots of reviews for other mattresses I learned that not all fit the same… There isn’t necessarily a standard size. We have a Graco crib and this mattress fits perfectly, and all of the sheets fit perfectly as well. Might be the most standard size out there! It’s firm, which a crib mattress should be. Happy with the mattress and trust the brand.

Fern Elmendorf Afb, AK
★★★★★

I don’t know what other people are complaining about

I did alot of research before making a crib mattress purchase. This one was number two on a list of the 10 best crib mattresses. It also has been on the best selling baby products on Amazon for months.The crib I purchase was a standard size Delta crib. This mattress fits tightly inside leaving absolutely no wiggle room. I even placed one of our 12 lb cats on it to see how it would stand up to an infant. There where no indentations or sagging like others have said.Granted I have yet to put on sheets or place an infant on it, but so far so good. You can’t beat the price.

Gail Llewellyn, PA
★★★★★

would have paid MUCH more for this (like I did with baby #1)!

We have a toddler at home who uses her crib mattress in her toddler bed, and since our baby-on-the-way is going to be in a bassinet for the first few months in our room, we weren’t going to purchase another crib mattress for the crib until necessary, since they are expensive…so I thought. At least our daughter’s was…I believe we paid upwards of $125-150 on it? So I’m online looking, just to “wish list” a few for when the time comes so I can hop online and just buy it instead of researching, and I come across this Safety 1st Mattress…I thought “wait…$52 PRIME…over 500 reviews…I bet it’s all people who just wanted to get a danged mattress in the crib and don’t give a crap if it’s too soft etc”….and I open the reviews; they’re all from Moms like me who are concerned with safety safety safety, and had previously purchased expensive and/or name-brand mattresses (Sealy, etc.) the first time and were STILL greatly impressed with this one. So when I opened my wish list to see it marked at only $42 PRIME on Sunday, I figured with free returns/shipping and only $42 it was worth a shot…if it was crappy, return! It came and I opened it…it’s lightweight, so I thought “oh, watch me lay this down and it’s going to be so soft and i’ll hve to return it”…so I put it on the floor and leaned all my preggo weight on it…GREAT firm mattress without being a piece of wood. It was completely sealed in plastic packaging to keep it clean, and it comes with it’s own waterproof removable cover over it. I put it in the crib and it fits PERFECTLY…I even had to kinda “push” it into place once I laid it in there, so it’s not away from the sides at all like some have mentioned (we purchased our convertible crib 3yrs ago, standard size).AWESOME mattress — buy with confidence guys/gals!!!

Leticia Englewood, NJ
★★★★★

Seems like a good buy

It’s hard to review or rate this product since I’m not the one sleeping on it, but my son seems to like it. Having said that, he seemed to like his last mattress (a hand me down that had a tear in it, hence needed to be replaced). The only reason why I’m not giving it 5 stars is because the size was a bit big and barely squeezed into his standard-sized crib.

Edna Alex, OK
★★★★★

Great for Price

Daughter has been sleeping in bassinet portion of pack-n-play and sleeping surface is very hard. Mattress is firm, but softer than the pack-n-play surface shes been sleeping on. It fits the crib great, no gaps at all, actually a little snug which is wonderful- wont have to worry about losing toys/paciifiers down there.Mattress seems easy to clean, standard crib sheets fit perfectly. You can purchase Carters Easy Fit Velour Crib Fitted Sheet to make the surface a little softer if preferred. We paired this with the CozyWedge Crib Bumper too.

Courtney Huntsville, AL
★★★★★

It Works and the Price is Right

What more can I say? Do you really need a $100-200 mattress for a crib? Probably not. Yes, this one will suffice. ALSO, I was grateful for the free waterproof cover this mattress includes.

Toni Fairview, PA
★★★★★

The reviews are true

Purchased for our first child based on the extensive positive review. Glad we did! Very firm, light (great for changing sheets), and no odors. Our baby has loved it for many weeks now. No complaints and highly recommended.

Twila Macon, MS
★★★★★

Too stiff!

Baby did not like mattress at all. It was too stiff…like a board.Preferred to scratch his fingernails on it to hear the sounds it makes. Could never get him to sleep on it!

Jody Fleetville, PA
★★★★★

Just right.

We were given a crib mattress that was older and too short, so I was a little sad to have to be shopping for this one. It had mixed reviews, but the unfavorable ones seemed to concern things that didn’t really bother me so I decided to take a chance. And I’m glad I did! This fits perfectly and tightly inside our Ikea Hensvik crib. For the reviewer who complained that it was too snug and that she’d have to untie her bumpers to move it every time she wanted to change sheets, bumpers aren’t safe in a newborn’s crib anyway, so I don’t see this as a problem (our little one is due in less than a month so this is baby’s first newborn mattress). It is *very* firm, but this is also completely appropriate for an infant/toddler mattress. I’m so glad that this mattress was exactly what I needed and am looking forward to having a little one around to use it!

Mari White Deer, TX
★★★★★

learn from my mistake…

The mattress shrunk! I read reviews about some mattresses being too small, but I ignored them. I figured if it was the wrong size, I could just send it back. I purchased it in October 2011 & it fit perfectly in the crib. So I thought “great, the mattress I received is fine”. The baby started sleeping in the crib in December. By February 2011, the mattress has gotten smaller lengthwise by about 2 inches –especially at the corners. It seems as if the mattress pad & sheets have permanently compressed the foam. Amazon customer service is willing to exchange the mattress or offer a refund if i return it, BUT its going to be way too much of a hassle to find a box that fits it & then lug it to the post office. Boo 🙁

Olga Silver Lake, OR
★★★★★

The one-stars have it…

I’m not sure how this received a high rating because it is a very cheap mattress. We purchased it because of its overall high rating, and we wanted a mattress that would work with the Angelcare movement monitor. When we received it, we immediately noticed that the material and the feel of the foam were of a lower quality than we anticipated. When we put the fitted sheet on it, the mattress compressed so much that it became a couple of inches shorter than it was without the sheet, leaving a large and unsafe space between it and the crib. Because of this, we imagine that, like other customers have pointed out, the mattress itself will lose support over time and be unsafe for the baby.We already had the Simmons dual-sided mattress for our baby’s crib, and although it doesn’t seem compatible with a movement sensor, the quality is very good.

Nelly Milano, TX
★★★★★

comfy!

Very comfortable!Its material is pretty good against accidents although I wouldn’t let stuff sit on too long.Not sure if they use flame retardants in this mattress but it should be something that you familiar yourself with in terms of their health hazards.

Carly Manahawkin, NJ