VTech DM221-2 Safe & Sound Digital Audio Baby Monitor with Two Parent Units

VTech DM221-2 Safe & Sound Digital Audio Baby Monitor with Two Parent Units

Safe & Sound Digital Audio Monitor with two parent units with DECT 6.0 digital technology provides crystal clear transmission, eliminating the annoying white noise you hear from analog monitors. Extended Range Up to 1,000 feet of range allows you to feel safe and connected to your child while you go about your day. Talk-Back Intercom System Remotely communicate to your baby from the parent unit to the baby unit. Soothe your baby from another room or even from outdoors.

Main features

  • This configuration includes two parent units (monitor) and one baby unit (audio monitor)
  • DECT 6.0 provides crystal clear transmission, eliminating the annoying white noise you hear from analog monitors
  • 5-level sound indicator – graphic bars on the parent unit indicate the level of sound in your baby’s room so you can visually monitor the noise level with the unit muted
  • Sometimes all your baby needs is to hear the sound of your voice – comfort your infant with the 2-way talk-back intercom
  • Rechargeable batteries provide parent unit with up to 18 hours of monitoring time on a single charge, or use two AAA batteries (not included)
  • Go hands free with the belt clip on the parent unit – carry the parent unit everywhere you go without the hassle of holding it. The operating range of the parent unit is up to 1,000 feet outdoors or 150 feet indoors
  • Parent unit can be set to beep if: (1) link between the parent unit and the baby unit is lost, and/or (2) rechargeable battery is low
  • Language is preset to English, but can be switched to French or Spanish for all screen displays
  • The loop on the baby unit doubles as a soothing night light for your little one
  • Vibrating sound-alert on the parent unit – enjoy some added peace by being silently alerted when there is sound in your baby’s room

Verified reviews

★★★★★

We loved it…at first…

Update 6/17/13:At first, we weren’t interested in replacing this unit with the exact same kind. We bought the Safety 1st High-Def Digital Monitor (http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00101TXPG/ref=oh_details_o02_s00_i00?ie=UTF8&psc;=1) instead–and hated it! (I’ll review that monitor on its own page.) Anyway, the replacement monitor was more expensive and so bad, we decided to go back to our original choice. We took advantage of Amazon’s option to exchange it, it arrived in a couple days, and so far, it is working. We know that the chances of having to replace these monitors again is high, but we are Amazon Prime members, so it is relatively easy (within the first year after purchase). It’s too bad these monitors have a known flaw, but they really do work well (when they work).——— (Original Review)We ordered this baby monitor from Amazon on July 19, 2012. At first, we were very pleased with the monitors! We liked how we could adjust the sensitivity levels and volume so that we could hear what we wanted to. On sensitivity levels 3-5, we can pick up our baby’s “white noise”, but when it’s turned off, we don’t have any extra static sounds. That’s always a plus. The volume on the parent units was good, and could be turned up enough to hear over a noisy room, and I like that we could mute the parent units and indicator lights would come on when it picked up sounds in the baby’s room. Unfortunately…On May 7, 2013, I unplugged the base unit briefly. When I plugged it back in, the parent units could not connect to it. I didn’t move anything around, so I knew they were in range, but I brought the parent units right next to the base unit so they might have better success in linking up. No such luck. This happened right before bedtime, and my baby has a bit of a cold, so we really wanted to be able to hear her overnight. My husband did a quick web search to see if there were any trouble-shooting methods we could try. We didn’t fine any helpful information, but we did find that quite a few other people were talking about the same problem. I ended up sleeping in my baby’s room overnight so I could be sure to hear her if she needed us.Fortunately, we purchased this through Amazon, and we have the following options available to us: 1) Return for a standard refund, 2) Exchange for a replacement, or 3) Exchange for one item in my cart. I was tempted to just order this particular baby monitor again because the price is right, it comes with two parent units, and it really did work well for a few months. If it’s this easy to get a replacement if the next one stops working, it is tempting. However, I have been reading other reviews, and it seems to be a pretty common problem. I’d rather not have to go through the hassle of ordering replacements, and sometimes, the timing is terrible (like now, when my baby has a cold and I’d really like to be able to hear her when she sleeps at night and during naps). We are looking for a different model.(If you’re still considering buying this baby monitor, I want to point out one thing that we didn’t like about them when they were working. The parent units have battery back-up, which is GREAT for when you are doing yard-work and want to still be able to hear the baby. Unfortunately, the base unit does not have battery back-up, so if the power goes out, so does the baby monitor. It would have been nice for both ends to have battery so it would keep on working during a power failure. At least, when the parent units don’t receive a signal, they beep to alert you. If the power goes out in the middle of the night, the beeping can wake you up to let you know of the problem.)

Pearlie New Bethlehem, PA
★★★★★

Life Changing!

I started with the Sony BabyCall monitors when we moved into a new house recently. With a downstairs master and three kids under 5 upstairs, I wanted monitors in each room so I could hear any problems during the night, and also just so I could hear what was going on during the day. Our master was right at the bottom of the stairs, and the kids rooms were all right at the top. The Sony was AWFUL. Constant “out of range” beeping. Drove me bonkers. The sound was ok and there was no interference, but the thought of listening to the Out of Range beeping all day for the next 5 years was too much for me.So I tried this one, mainly because of the intercom feature. All of the yelling up and down the stairs was getting to me, and I figured this would serve a dual purpose as a baby monitor and a tool to keep the house a little quieter. It has been a couple weeks and these monitors have been great. We have one Angelcare baby monitor, and two sets of the VTech dual parent monitors.I was concerned about having more than one Vtech monitor and whether or not they would interfere with one another because I didn’t see any other reviewers address this issue. I’m happy to report we’ve had no problems. They immediately connected with their match, and have worked ever since.I LOVE being able to talk back and forth with the kids. When my toddler asks if she’s allowed to come out yet in the morning, she’s no longer yelling down the stairs. She knows she can just ask quietly and I’ll talk back through the monitor. My son has night terrors and I can always catch them early rather than when they get too bad and he also has allergies and asthma and I can hear through the monitor if he begins coughing which is really important in catching problems early.UPDATE: Several power outages and no problems linking back up!The thing I like the most about these is that I’ll be able to use them long past the baby stage. Being able to use them to tell the kids to come down for dinner, or to tell them to stop beating each other up, is something I’ll be able to do for many years. The yelling is at a minimum now and life is a little more peaceful. The range also seems to be good. We’re not venturing far but I’ve had no problems in the house, and we’ve taken them outside the house within about 100 feet without any connection problems.I have not had a power outage yet, so I’m a little concerned about the issue of linking up after an outage. If I have an update down the road I will post.So far, I’m really happy with the purchase.

Mandy Roseland, NJ
★★★★★

helpful

This baby monitor is perfect for me! It doesn’t pick up on the humidifier in the room, once you adjust the sensitivity settings, but it picks up on the slightest noise my baby makes. If I need the sound off for whatever reason, the lights and vibrating setting is helpful, although I have only used it once. Haven’t had any problems.

Lucile Stoutland, MO
★★★★★

Good Baby Monitors

My wife and I got these for our newborn’s nursery and they are pretty good overall. For $60 and getting two parent monitors, that was a good value to us. Much better than anything we could find in most stores. We did have one unit that stopped syncing to each other and nothing we tried or VTech support had us try fixed it and so they had to be replaced under warranty.The range is great on them, especially with the nursery upstairs and going to the basement or out in the yard. Volume seems low at first, but once our son makes any noise, we always hear it. I would definitely recommend these to anyone.

Rachelle Albany, MN
★★★★★

Stopped working after 9 months

I was very excited about these monitors and the ability to talk to my 2 year old through them instead of going in his room every time he called for me. They worked great and I was happy with these monitors until, after only 9 months, (like mentioned in several of the other reviews) they just stopped working. They will not reset, they just beep and the screen flashes “NOT LINKED”. I bought them in Dec. of 2012 and they lasted till Sept of 2013 and of course warranty was up in March. Disappointed.UPDATE 10/3/13Called VTech and within 5 minutes had someone on the line. They are sending me a replacement within 3-5 days. Impressed with the customer service, just hope this monitor lasts longer!

Nichole Marshall, AK
★★★★★

Great but terrible!!! Two in six months.

We’ve bought this product on July 2012. It was the best ever, no noises, excellent reception, very helpful the light, in fact we were very very happy.By that time we had two toddlers and I was expecting a baby. By December it stopped linking, so we tough we had had bad luck.My baby was being expected for January 11th so, after contacting the manufacturer, who by the way told us that we had to send it to them and pay for that, we decided to give it another try and we bought another.A month later our friends who recommended this product to us had the same problem. We were concerned but, you never know, maybe two bad lucks?In May, just five months after buying the second one, it stopped linking too. Now we have two pairs of baby monitors and we are trying to get the manufacturer to repair at least one of if.If you ask me, I loved the product but I can’t understand why it stops linking magically. If someone knows about another affordable monitor that has no noise, please let me know.

Lizzie Sonora, CA
★★★★★

Has to be replaced every time you unplug it which is ridiculous.

I loved this audio monitor for 9 months. It was easy to set up, easy to use, worked great and the 2 parent units were awesome. Why don’t more baby monitors come with 2 parent units?Well, today, I accidentally kicked the power strip while sorting stuff in the baby’s room and powered off the baby unit. When I powered it back on, the parent units wouldn’t connect with the baby units. I tried everything in the manual and on their trouble shooting website, and then I came here to see if anyone else had had this problem. And what do you know… LOTS of people have had this problem.So it’s a known issue and the manufacturer’s solution is to send you a replacement. So let me see if I understand this situation: every time I power off the baby unit, the audio monitor will cease to function I have to then call in and get a replacement? That’s ridiculous. We’re about to move and I don’t have time to deal with getting the audio monitor replaced knowing that in a month when we move and have to unplug it, I have to call again to get it replaced. I will be returning this unit and shopping for another product.I should probably note that we did unplug it 2-3 times before this happened, so it doesn’t happen right away. Looking at other reviews, it seems to happen if you unplug it after about 6 months of use.

Brianna Lone Oak, TX
★★★★★

Meh. They’re ok.

We didn’t want frills or fancy for our monitors. We have a small house and rooms across from each other. Video wasn’t necessary, just wanted some simple digital monitors.At first they were nice, never lost signal or picked up anyone else’s. Then they started losing signal a lot. I understand why they beep when they do lose signal, but it woke our son up it was so loud. Now we just don’t move the one that lost signal the most. It stays plugged in and on in our room. The other one that hasn’t had the problem travels around with us. Since having that set up it hasn’t been a problem. Still annoying though.Quick tip, to fix the link problem I would plug it in while holding the power button and it usually fixed it.

Annmarie Avalon, NJ
★★★★★

Fantastic Baby Monitor

Wow, these are SO great! If you’re trying to decide between the ones with one or two parent units, get two! My hubby and I use them as "walkie talkies" quite often. It’s nice to be able to update each other as to what’s going on in the other room, and when I’m working in the basement I can hear and then push to talk to my boys upstairs!I have zero complaints about these monitors, and the price cannot be beat!

Cecilia Acampo, CA
★★★★★

Does just what we need

We have not had any interference problems. Even with the noise machine running in the baby’s room, we can hear his grunts and cries over that. Have had no issues for over a month. Great price.

Robyn Unity House, PA
★★★★★

Love

I did a lot of research on baby monitors I have two kids. With my first baby I had a fisher price, sony, and then just a cheap version. They all sucked had static and interference all the time. I decided on this monitor and was so surprised I will never buy another brand ever again for myself or anyone else. There is absolutely no interference and I live in a pretty big neighborhood. There is also no static on it what so ever. Both of my kids have to sleep with music on and you can clearly hear them over the music on the monitor. The talk feature is awesome as well just like a walkie talkie. It has multiply volume levels and a vibrate option. The receivers hold charge well but I usually leave mine plugged in most of the time. When I bought this monitor I wanted one that wasn’t horribly expensive and worked well and that’s what I got. So pleased with this I can’t even say how much. Also a perk is that if for some reason something happens to it and you need to replace it vtech has a year warranty. Hope this helps.

Millie Rocky Mount, MO
★★★★★

Great monitor!!!!

Our old monitor broke and we only owned it for a little over a year. So frustrating. We did some research and decided on this one. We LOVE it. Battery life isn’t amazing but who cares we just charge it. Def worth buying and we would highly recommend it.

Lauri Haverhill, NH
★★★★★

Perfect for us

They have everything we needed. We especially find the sensitivity setting useful since our little one sleeps with white noise. We have found if you leave the sensitivity all the way up it continuously transmits and drains the batteries quickly. With a properly configured sensitivity we go days without needing to recharge them though.

Latonya Pearcy, AR
★★★★★

lovED these… :-/ update after 4 months of use…

UPDATE 6/11/14 ~ I had to contact VTECH and get a warranty replacement after 4 months or so of use. They replaced it no problem. Now, 9 months after receiving the replacement, one of the parent units has no sound. All settings are correct, volume is up, unit is linked etc but no sound. 🙁 Very disappointed. They also sometimes still link and unlink (beeps) in the middle of the night which is frustrating. I tried contacting VTECH and they wouldn’t do anything. I understand I am outside of the warranty period for my original unit. It is just very disappointing because they have had multiple issues. I would NOT purchase these again.UPDATE: 9/14/13 ~ I ordered these last November from Amazon because they were a great price and I was excited about having a baby (which wasnt due til April!)…I did not even take these out of the box until about May. I loved these at first…NOW after only 4 months of use, the LCD screen on one parent unit is going out. Also, it started occasionally beeping saying signal was lost/not linked (room is like 40 feet away)..baby unit was plugged in and fine. The issue was with the OTHER parent unit (not the one with the messed up LCD sceen)…It also occasionally SAYS its linked but really isnt..the sound cuts out. I love the features (vibrating alert and esecially the lights that signal the loudness of my sons crying…but I am pretty upset that these are going downhill after such a short time. 🙁 NO LONGER RECCOMMENDED!ORIGINAL REVIEW: I didn’t feel the need to have a baby monitor w camera and wanted 2 parent units (one for downstairs and one for our bedroom). These are amazing. They allow you to set sensitivity level, vibrate mode, have pants clip to run off battery, beeping mode and I love that you can talk back from parent unit to baby room!! Highly recommend these!!

Ivy Hebron, KY
★★★★★

Really like these monitors

We debated whether or not to get a video monitor and in the end, decided not to because of the security risk. I was worried about how an audio-only monitor would work, but these are fantastic. The sound quality is great, so much so that I can hear my baby if he sighs quietly or bumps his leg against the side of his crib. When he’s sick and we’re running a humidifier, I can still hear his little snores. I also like how there’s a light on the front panel that blinks green whenever it picks up noise. The battery life is also excellent and has lasted several hours at a time for us. My husband and I use the walkie-talkie function more to talk to each other than to our son, but I’m sure that will come in handy in the future, too.

Jolene Condon, OR
★★★★★

Great monitor, great price

I would leave a 5-star review, but after 9 months of daily use, the screen on one monitor has blank spots (which renders it unreadable to see the battery life or signal strength. I only use it plugged in rather than roaming). Not too big a deal, I can still hear the baby cry, but a little surprising given the short term of use. The other unit still reads fine. Otherwise, no complaints. The vibrate feature is nice, too.

John Pittsford, VT
★★★★★

Great Baby Monitor

I strategically placed these all over the house so I know when baby wakes up & starts crying. I can even bring this outside.

Goldie Grover, NC
★★★★★

GREAT monitors

We really love these monitors! They pair only to the base they came with, so no interference with neighbors, etc. There are several settings you can customize (volume, vibration, etc.) and I love that they can be muted and you still have the lights to tell you if baby is crying. I also love the two-way voice feature and the night light on the baby unit.

Margaret Alden, MN
★★★★★

Good range, ours broke but company provided a replacement

We started using this monitor about 18 months ago and it’s great in terms of range and clarity. There is a small button shaped light on the 2 parent units that lights up when the baby is making any noise (so even if you’re on the treadmill with headphones, you could visually see that something is going on with baby). After a year of use, we took the monitor with us on the trip and lo and behold, it stopped working! As a few others noted, ours stopped linking and was therefore useless. Once we returned home, I contacted the company and they shipped us a replacement free of charge within a week. I would purchase this unit again.

Christine Fossil, OR
★★★★★

Please listen to the negative reviews.

I purchased this monitor in June 2013. I have been only using from September 2013 to February 2013. I really liked the system… until the LCD screen on ONE of the Parent Units stopped working. It is now to the point that I can’t tell if it is charged or linked — rendering it useless because I can’t tell if it is working.I call Vtech and the person I spoke to acknowledged that there is no troubleshooting he can do. He says I need to send the ENTIRE system in for replacement (i.e., both parent units and the monitor). Replacement will arrive in 2 weeks after my shipping time. Um, what am I supposed to do in the interim??? This is a piece of safety equipment, and I need it every night. Am I supposed to buy a second system to use while you replace your defective product? Very, very disappointed…

Pat Milledgeville, GA
★★★★★

Great!

I would like to give it 5 stars, but sometimes these do come un-linked in the middle of the night and you have to turn them off and on again to re-link. I also wish there was a battery in the base. Other than that, I LOVE THEM! Digital is the way to go! I love the settings on these and they sound great!

Hope Fredonia, KY
★★★★★

Love Talk Back Feature

We originally got a Samsung monitor because Target’s website claimed it had a talk back feature. We ended up using it for a week or two, and returning it because that was important to us. This monitor is not quite as clear as the Samsung, but that is a good thing! We can still hear most of our baby’s slight whimpers. It has several nice features, including vibrate. The talk back feature allows us to talk to one another from our living room downstairs to the nursery upstairs. Awesome when we need something carried up or down. No more yelling down the stairs while trying to get baby to sleep.

Pamela Berlin, MA
★★★★★

works great

Works great; picks up sound really well. The only thing i would like better is if the main monitor had a rechargeable battery as well.

Noemi Gold Bar, WA
★★★★★

Will not last

This worked pretty well… While it worked. We bought it in June 2012, just before my daughter was born. That Thanksgiving, when there was lots of family in town we set up the pack and play in our room and moved the base into there so we could hear her. It would not reconnect and after spending way too long trying to trouble shoot, ended up going the weekend without one (and constantly going up to check on her until we went to bed). It was under warranty, so I had to pay shipping to send it to VTech and they sent a replacement one. It worked until we went away during her birthday week and brought the monitor with us. It did the same thing, so were again stuck without a monitor and constantly having to check in on her. Unfortunately the warranty runs out after 1 year, so we’re stuck with a broken monitor and had to buy a new one. I went with a $15 one from Target this time, and haven’t had any issues. Have been impressed so far with the quality for the price!

Jennie Mermentau, LA
★★★★★

Sound doesn’t always come through

I decided to try this rather than splurge the extra on a video monitor. I had an audio monitor years ago for our firstborn, and I loved it because I could put it near him and hear him breathing the whole time. I could tell when he was stirring and going to wake up. It gave me a lot of peace of mind, and I could hoped this monitor would be similar.Sound only comes through on this monitor when it’s loud, and even then it’s not on constantly. We have a fan in the baby’s room, so I thought that would be loud enough for the sound to come through constantly. Nope. I kept hearing the hum of the fan, then silence, then a few seconds later the noise of the fan. It was very distracting, and I could never tell if it was because the baby was moving or making noise (she wasn’t).If you want to know what your baby is doing without worry, definitely go for a video monitor. I bought one after trying this one for a few days – it is SO much better.

Kimberley Daingerfield, TX
★★★★★

Wonderful item. Love the low sensitivity option.

Very easy to use and great product. We put the sensitivity on a lower setting so if he grunts in his sleep, I won’t wake up. I took off a star because I think the baby unit should have battery capability too, because the baby sometimes sleeps in the bassinet and sometimes in the swing.

Bethany Flemingsburg, KY
★★★★★

Really clear monitors

This is our third monitor set. The first two we had were Fisher Price and always had static in them. I am so glad we switched to these VTech monitors as they are crystal clear and very portable. I like that you can talk through the receiver to the base as I can use the monitors to talk to my older kids when they are playing upstairs when needed.The only problem we have had with them is that occasionally, the receiver will start beeping because it has lost its signal with the base (this has happened a few times in the middle of the night and woken us up).

Carolina San Simeon, CA
★★★★★

Works great

You don’t really need more than this for a monitor, I think. I live in a three story condo and this works great. It actually might pick up a little too much. Can’t put them too close together or they will squeal. (Rooms next to each other in our case).We leave them plugged in. One unit downstairs and the other in our bedroom. Works wonderfully.

Beth Lebanon, SD
★★★★★

Solid baby monitor

This baby monitor has good audio quality, and the receivers have good enough battery life for my purposes. (It only lasts a couple of hours, but I usually leave them plugged in.) I like how solid the receivers feel as well, and I like the independent sensitivity/volume settings. I also love that you can use these basically as walkie-talkies. My son has a lot of fun with them for certain. :)My only two issues:1. No battery on the transmitter. If it comes unplugged for some reason (like if a rampaging toddler decides it’s a toy), it will immediately turn off.2. Even with the sensitivity turned all the way up, it still sometimes doesn’t pick up my son’s noises. This is a digital transmitter, and it seems to have "smart" settings that mean it isn’t always on and producing white noise; there needs to be a loud enough sound to turn it on. If my son is too quiet waking up from his nap, it doesn’t always trigger. I prefer to be able to respond to him BEFORE he gets into full-blown crying mode when he’s sick.I do really like these monitors, though, and would definitely recommend them.

Carey Birdsboro, PA
★★★★★

Great sound and great customer service

I registered for these in Amazon for baby #3, and was lucky enough to get them. The sound was great, and even managed to work after a 2 1/2 week power outage (from Sandy). However, 5 months later it totally conked out, no linking, nothing. I was bummed but when I called customer service, they were so understanding and shipped me a brand new one that is working beautifully so far.

Bertha Queen City, TX